Wk-8 Remix Culture

FullSizeRender (1)After doing some sort of this remix activity, It made me think more of Internet culture for what it truly is, and what its pros and cons may be. Many people are free to do what they please on the internet, but there is a boundary to it. Some individuals don’t want others to copyright there things so thy may have a right to block you to do so. I think for some categories it may be necessary, but if someone is simply appreciating what you’ve done then it makes no sense to dislike them for that. (I will get into my picture later)

Bringing to my next point regarding copyright, and how it works thus far. For the most part I believe it is good to have this because some things should be owned my that individual who thought of it. Other times it may be absurd on what they might sue a person for doing. For example in class we saw a reenactment of some sort where people who work together reenacted a song and got sued for it. Now that is where copy right doesn’t really make sense to me and I think should be readjusted in that form.

The license I have chosen was Attribution-ShareAlike CC BY-SA. The reason I chose this one in particular is because I felt that there agreement is pretty good to abide by. I do not mind if someone were to be interest in one of my own ideas, but I would like to get a bit of credit for it and only because I would love to see what they have done with it. I would really enjoy seeing others take interest in what I do and I do not mind at all if they want to do something with it, and I would love to know about it too.

So when I thought of remix culture I couldn’t really figure out what to do exactly, but I tried my best to attempt to do a sort of remix culture. So I went with my family to Olvera St. in Los Angeles and we always go to this taquitos place called Cielito Lindo. Now this place has the best taquitos on the planet and I thought I would look up its history. FullSizeRender (1)

This small whole in the wall has been here since 1934! Don’t be fooled by its looks because many people of all diverse backgrounds come here just for their amazing food and enjoy the Mexican culture surrounding them.FullSizeRender (3) When you think about it just like I did from the looks of it I don’t think it would be my first choice to go here because its not your average restaurant, but hearing about it from others how they heard about it amazed me. I learned of its history from the internet and how many people talk about it so much and post pics of it or just applaud them for being there so long and how they never changed so much about it and always stayed true there history.

What I am trying to get at is that many people do not know of these whole in the wall type of places, but once they do most likely from the internet they find more meaning about it. I think that is where the internet can benefit us in some way to appreciate places that have been here for years and just bring the old culture to our own culture to this generation in what I kind of see some sort of a remix culture. FullSizeRender (2)

Leave a Reply

